The best data - based overview of EU politics


10 votes that shaped the 7th European Parliament. Positions of European groups and national party delegations (10.07.2013 - Brussels Press Club, 95 Rue Froissart, 1040 Brussels)

10 votes that shaped the 7th European Parliament
Positions of European groups and national party delegations
VoteWatch Europe 2013 Annual report 
Wednesday 10 July 2013, 14.00-15.30
Brussels Press Club Europe
95 Rue Froissart, 1040 Brussels
Has the EP increased its footprint on EU legislation since the Lisbon Treaty?
Is the political composition of the EP decisive in the impact of its legislative footprint?
Do MEPs rally according to their ideology or their nationality?

VoteWatch Europe was launched in 2009 to serve as an information source for the European Parliament (EP) elections taking place that year. Since then, it has become the go-to source of information for citizens, journalists, NGOs, interest groups, politicians, civil servants, and anyone else interested in the policy positions, voting records and coalition formation trends of Members of the European Parliament (MEPs), European political groups and EP national party delegations. In 2012, VoteWatch Europe introduced voting data on the Council of Ministers.

The main purpose of this report is to kick off the 2014 European electoral campaign. Firstly, this report shows the importance of decisions made by the European Parliament. Secondly, it reveals who stood for what in Brussels and Strasbourg. Each of the ten votes presented here gives an overview of answers proposed by the seven political groups to some key challenges faced by the European Union. Some readers will view the results in the report from a European angle, and will look at the positions taken by European political groups as a whole. Others will be more interested in specific countries. They can look at the results from a national angle, focussing on how national party delegations voted in a particular Member State. 

Presentation of the VoteWatch Europe 2013 Annual report by Dr Simon Hix, Professor of European and Comparative Politics and Head of the Department of Government, London School of Economics and Political Science, and Chairman of VoteWatch Europe, and by Doru Frantescu, VoteWatch Europe co-founder and policy director, followed by

Panel discussion and audience Q&A, chaired by Dr Sara Hagemann, Lecturer in EU Politics at the London School of Economics and Political Science, and Vice-Chair of VoteWatch Europe, with Simon Hix, Doru Frantescu and Kathalijne Buitenweg, VoteWatch Europe Board member, and former Member of the European Parliament (Greens/EFA, the Netherlands).

Participation is free of charge. A copy of the VoteWatch Europe annual report will be provided on arrival (it will not be made available before then).
To register, please click on the Register button below, or send an email to [email protected] by Tuesday 9 July, 12.00.
There will be a limited opportunity for journalists to speak with the authors immediately following the event. If you wish to make use of this possibility, please mention this in your registration email.